Beijing, we need to talk

Dear Beijing,

We need to talk. I’ve known you for three years now and it’s been awesome, really. We’ve had such great times together. Remember camping out on the Wall? Or all those days in the summer when we would just lounge in Chao Yang Park? Man, those were the days!

The thing is, “this” isn’t really working anymore. First of all, I don’t even know what to call “this”. Are we just having fun and living together? I mean, do you see this going anywhere? Lately, I’ve been questioning whether I do.

Second, honestly, not all of the memories we share are that great. Your pollution, for instance. I really, truly thought that you could stop or at least ease up a bit, but you’ve only gotten worse. I know, I know, it’s your buddies in Hebei and Shandong… but I’m tired of hearing excuses.

In the end though, I honestly just think it’s time for me to get serious about me. You know I’ve been thinking of going back to school, and I think now is the perfect time.

There are a few things I would love to do together before we call it quits. I’ve still never been to Lama Temple or Jingshan Park. And I think we deserve one more walk around 798 and Gulou. We should take these next few days to remember all the great times together.

And before you hear it through the grapevine, I’ve been hanging out with Dali lately and I think we’re going to spend the summer together. We’re just friends and I don’t see it going anywhere in the long run, but I like his company.

Anyways, I hope we can be friends and I’d love to see you again sometime in the future.

Here are a few snapshots of the good times to remember me by.

Leave a Reply

