The rents have arrived!


The rents arrived for the first time to China, let alone Asia, last week to be my first guests here. As I am quite new to the task, there have been a few bumps along the way, including arrival at the final gate of the Forbidden City (after trekking through the four-odd gates) the minute they closed ticket booths, a broken water cooler and stomach flu that started plaguing me the day after they arrived. However, the rest has been spectacular. It’s great to return to sights I haven’t seen in a few years, and surprising how many unexplored gems you stumble upon with new travel buddies. One awesome spot was the National Museum, not only because it’s *free* with relatively short lines during the week, but also because of its creative exhibition themes and titles, such as “The Road to Redemption”, which covers, of course, modern Chinese history, leaving out, of course, a few key events. Another great exhibition we unfortunately missed was “Louis Vuitton Voyages”, although I think I’ll return to clear my confusion as to what the luxury brand has to do with Chinese history.

Nevertheless, the majority of places we sought out were ones I had visited on my first trip to China in the summer of 2009. While re-exploring these sites, I couldn’t help but remember the last time I was there, when I had no intention of returning Beijing, let alone China. Although it’s a strange sensation, it’s also one of satisfaction and pride. The absence of a concrete plan for the next few years has led me to Beijing and while here, allowed me to focus on making friends, exploring the area and dabble in new interests, after finding a means to survive of course. However, their visit also reminded me of home and how much you miss when away from family and friends. This summer alone, I’ll miss my Grandma’s 85th birthday celebration/family reunion, my parent’s big move from Maryland to Massachusetts, my brother’s move to Boston, the birth of my cousin’s baby and another cousin’s wedding. Granted, this year is especially jam-packed with family milestones, and its likely I won’t have to experience such pangs of homesickness in the coming years, but it makes me wonder if living here is worth it.

In the end, somehow I figure this is just too good to miss.

Comments
5 Responses to “The rents have arrived!”
  1. Bro says:

    We miss you, too! And it won’t be too long before you’ll be visiting us again.
    -bro

  2. John says:

    Thanks for hosting us. We never could have (or would have probably) without your insider help. We’re already planning our next trip back!

  3. Mom says:

    This rent had a fabolous time visiting china. Wonderful hosts and the best tour guide ever! May we come back?

  4. Amanda says:

    How wonderful to have your parents there! It sounds like you had an amazing time. I am so excited to come visit you!!

Leave a Reply

